## **DRAFT MINUTES**

**OF** 

**SOCWA BOARD** 

**ORGANIZATION MEETING** 

**JULY 12, 2023** 

## SOUTHEASTERN OAKLAND COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY

## Organization Meeting - July 12, 2023

## Table of Contents

Representatives & Alternates – 2023/24 – Acknowledged –	10420
Votes – Municipalities – 2023/24 – Established –	10421
Election of Officers – Slate of Candidates Approved –	10422
Banking Relationships with Flagstar, Michigan First Credit Union, PNC Bank and Oakland County Local Government Investment Pool to be continued and add the Michigan Cooperative Liquid Assets Securities System as an authorized investment institution – Approved as revised –	10423
Meeting Adjourned –	10424

# MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE SOUTHEASTERN OAKLAND COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY

#### Wednesday, July 12, 2023 – Oak Park City Hall

The meeting was called to order at 8:31 a.m. by Mr. Jim Breuckman, Chair.

Dusasut	<b>V</b> 7 - 4	M
Present	Votes	<u>Municipality</u>
Neil Johnston (Alternate)	2	Beverly Hills
Kurt Jones	1	Bingham Farms
Melissa Coatta	5	Birmingham
Trever Zablocki	1	Clawson
Karen Miller	1	Lathrup Village
Jim Breuckman	1	Pleasant Ridge
Aaron Filipski	10	Royal Oak
Patrick Ryan	15	Southfield
Neil Johnston (Alternate)	<u>1</u>	Southfield Twp
TOTAL	37	
Absent		
Young	2	Berkley
Rocco Fortura	<u>1</u>	Huntington Woods
TOTAL	3	

### Also Present

- J. A. McKeen, General Manager
- R. Jackovich, Operations Manager
- C. Farris, Organizational Development Manager
- R. Davis, General Counsel

- 10420 -

WHEREAS, this Board has received notice of the appointment of representatives and alternates to the Board, as follows:

<u>Municipality</u>	Representative	<u>Alternate</u>
Berkley	Shawn Young	Robert Chalmers
Beverly Hills	Jeff Campbell	Neil Johnston
Bingham Farms	Kurt Jones	Ken Marten
Birmingham	Melissa Coatta	Jana Ecker
Clawson	Trever Zablocki	Ryan McDonald
Huntington Woods	Rocco Fortura	Chris Wilson
Lathrup Village	Karen Miller	Susie Stec
Pleasant Ridge	Jim Breuckman	Timothy Schultz
Royal Oak	Aaron Filipski	Jaynmarie Hubanks
Southfield	Patrick Ryan	Leigh Schultz
Southfield Twp.	Jeff Campbell	Neil Johnston

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the above names be acknowledged as the official representatives and alternates for the Southeastern Oakland County Water Authority for the fiscal year 2023/24.

- 10421 -

Motion by Mr. P. Ryan, supported by Mr. A. Filipski:

WHEREAS, Article IX of the Articles of Incorporation provides for an adjustment in the number of votes entitled each municipality (one vote for each 200 million gallons or major fraction thereof), and

WHEREAS, the General Manager has submitted a report on the water consumption for each member municipality during the fiscal year 2022/23,

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the number of votes for each constituent member for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2023, be established as follows:

Municipality	No. of Votes
Berkley	2
Beverly Hills	2
Bingham Farms	1
Birmingham	5
Clawson	1
Huntington Woods	1
Lathrup Village	1
Pleasant Ridge	1
Royal Oak	10
Southfield	15
Southfield Township	<u>1</u>
TOTAL:	40

Yeas: Johnston, Jones, Coatta, Zablocki, Miller, Breuckman, Filipski, Ryan,

Johnston (37 votes)

Nays: None

Absent: Berkley (2 votes), Fortura (1 vote)

#### Motion carried.

- 10422 -

Motion by Mr. A. Filipski, supported by Ms. K. Miller:

The following slate of candidates for the various offices for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2023 was submitted and recommended for approval:

Chair:
Vice Chair:

Secretary:
Advisory Committee:

Kurt Jones
Rocco Fortura
Jim Breuckman
Kurt Jones
Rocco Fortura
Aaron Filipski
Finance Director:
Accountant/Treasurer:

Colleen Wayland

Yeas: Johnston, Jones, Coatta, Zablocki, Miller, Breuckman, Filipski, Ryan,

Johnston (37 votes)

Nays: None

Absent: Berkley (2 votes), Fortura (1 vote)

Motion carried.

- 10423-

Motion by Mr. P. Ryan, supported by Ms. K. Miller:

That the banking relationships with Flagstar, Michigan First Credit Union, PNC Bank and the Oakland County Local Government Investment Pool be continued under the previously approved Board resolutions and consistent with the requirements of the Authority's Investment Policy and that the Board approves the Michigan Cooperative Liquid Assets Securities System (MI CLASS) as an authorized investment institution with a combined \$5 million cap between MI CLASS and the Oakland County Local Government Investment Pool and authorizes the General Manager to complete the necessary paperwork to enroll in MI CLASS.

#### **ROLL CALL VOTE**

Yeas: Johnston, Jones, Coatta, Zablocki, Miller, Breuckman, Filipski, Ryan,

Johnston (37 votes)

Nays: None

Absent: Berkley (2 votes), Fortura (1 vote)

#### Motion carried.

- 10424-

Motion by Mr. K. Jones, supported by Mr. A. Filipski:

That the Organization Meeting be adjourned.

Yeas: Johnston, Jones, Coatta, Zablocki, Miller, Breuckman, Filipski, Ryan,

Johnston (37 votes)

Nays: None

Absent: Berkley (2 votes), Fortura (1 vote)

#### Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:40 a.m.

APPROVED:		
	Chair	
	Secretary	